HISTORY OF THE PARALEGAL DIVISION OF THE STATE BAR OF TEXAS

2005 - 2006

The Incoming Board Meeting was held June 24 - 26, 2005, at the Wyndham Dallas Market Center Hotel, Dallas.

2005-2006 Standing Committee Chairs and Advisors

Committee	Chair	Advisor
Annual Meeting	Michelle Flowers Brooks Cheryl Jung	Pamela R. Horn Board Certified Paralegal — Civil Trial Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization
Continuing Education	Pamela R. Horn Board Certified Paralegal — Civil Trial Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization	Javan Johnson, CLAS Board Certified Paralegal — Civil Trial Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization
Elections	Jennifer Fielder	Robert Soliz
Joint Task Force	Debra Crosby	Ellen Lockwood, CLAS, RP
Membership	Michelle Rayburn	Ginger D. Williams, CLAS Board Certified Paralegal — Real Estate Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization
Procedures Manual (Special Committee) Standing Rules	Javan Johnson, CLAS Board Certified Paralegal — Civil Trial Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization	Debbie Skolaski, CP
Professional Ethics	Laurie Borski	Jan Bufkin, CP
Professional Development	Janabeth Taylor	Javan Johnson, CLAS Board Certified Paralegal — Civil Trial Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization
Publications	Rhonda Brashears, CLA Board Certified Paralegal — Personal Injury Texas Board of Legal Specialization	Page McCoy, PLS, CLA
Public Relations	Linda Studer, CLA	Patricia Giuliano

2005-2006 Ad Hoc Committee Chairs and Advisors

Committee	Chair	Advisor
Alliance of State Paralegal Organizations	Javan Johnson, CLAS Board Certified Paralegal — Civil Trial Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization	Joncilee Miller, CLA
Ethics Handbook	Ellen Lockwood, CLAS, RP	Jan Bufkin, CP
PD Membership Renewals	Y. Michele Flowers Brooks Jeanette Ybarra	Pamela R. Horn Board Certified Paralegal — Civil Trial Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization
PD Ambassador Program	Carolyn B. Goff	Deborah Hathaway
PD 25th Anniversary	Michele Boerder, CLA	Cel Wiginton, CLA
State Bar College Membership Application Review	Jena Parker, CP	Debbie House, CP
TAPS 2005 Planning	Lisa Sprinkle, CLAS Board Certified Paralegal — Civil Trial Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization	Ellen Lockwood, CLAS, RP
Salary Survey	Patricia J. Giuliano	

Committee	Chair	Advisor
Sustaining Member/Vendor Liaison	Kim J. Cantu, CLA	Mona Chandler, CP
Non-CLE Event	Cecile Wiginton, CLA	
Annual Meeting Research to Change Date	Ginger D. Williams, CLAS Board Certified Paralegal — Real Estate Law Texas Board of Legal Specialization	

The Joint Task Force will continue to work with Bar's Paralegal Committee relative to the annotations to be prepared and submitted to the Disciplinary Rules Committee.

The 2006 trip for the Division will be promoted as "PD — Destination Paris." Travel dates will be April 23-29, 2006.

The Board of Directors met with the State Bar of Texas Standing Committee on Legal Assistants during Forum XXIV. Following the Texas Forum, the fall meeting of the Board was held at the Omni SouthPark Hotel, Austin on October 7-8, 2005.

The Salary Survey is ready to be conducted online with results to be provided in April 2006. Local associations will be paying Division to share information specific to local areas.

Participation with the Texas Young Lawyers Association on-line member services committee as to preparation of topics for use in conjunction with the Ten-Minute Mentor Program was approved

The Board voted to allow members to request new membership certificates on membership renewal application.

The Publications Committee requested appointment of new E-Group co-monitor due to resignation of Margaret Bonner.

The Board received the report and recommendations of the 2004 financial audit from Carrie Bradshaw, CPA, of Brown Graham & Co.

Fifty Texas paralegals have signed up to help with Hurricane Katrina victims through the Equal Access to Justice.

Norma Hackler declared her intention to continue in position of PD Coordinator. In accordance with the Division Bylaws, the Coordinator review process was conducted.

Pam Horn, Chair of the Continuing Education Committee (CEC), was appointed to serve on 2006 TAPS Planning Committee. As of January 2005, Division has sold over \$10,000.00 in online CLE (since its inception).

Texas Advanced Paralegal Seminar held in September 2005 received second highest number of registrants from all of years LAU/TAPS has been conducted.

The Board Meeting was held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Addison, on February 24-25, 2006.

A new 2006 Ethics Brochure was approved.

Guidelines were approved for the appointment of a PD representative to serve on the Board of Directors, College of the State Bar of Texas and added to the Procedures Manual.

The Board voted to discontinue credit card acceptance for membership renewal fees due to low usage of credit cards for payment by renewing members.

President Lockwood learned at the Access to Justice Joint Task Force meeting that the Division is not required to have its Annual Meeting in conjunction with the Bar—s Annual Meeting. More research will be conducted prior to suggesting a bylaw change in this regard.

New procedures were adopted for Non-CLE events and added to the Procedures Manual.

The 2006 Annual Meeting was held at the Austin Convention Center, Austin on Friday, June 16, 2006. The focus of the 2006 Annual Meeting was the Division's 25th Anniversary.

Michele Boerder gave a history of the Division's 25 years including the introduction of past presidents in attendance as well as special guests Tom Hanna, Sandy Hardin, and Bob Towery, who were instrumental in the formation of the Paralegal Division.

Judge Rodriguez, Judge Livingston, and Debra Crosby presented information regarding the Paralegal Standards that were adopted by the Bar Board on April 21, 2006.

It was announced that the Annual PD Trip will be to Florence, Italy.

The 2005-2006 Division awards were presented to:

- Cecile Wiginton, CLA, Midland
 2006 Exceptional Pro Bono Award
- Kim Cantu, Immediate Past President, Dallas Award of Excellence
- Carolyn Goff, Galveston, Chair of the Ambassador Committee and Patricia J. Giuliano, San Antonio — Chair of the Salary Survey Committee Committee Chairs of the Year
- Debra Crosby, San Antonio Co-Chair of the Joint Task Force Special Award
- Caro Dubois, CP, Austin Chair, 2006 Annual Meeting Committee Special Award

Paralegal Division Board of Directors 2005 - 2006

Officers:

President:	Ellen Lockwood, CLAS, RP
President-Elect:	Javan Johnson, CLAS, TBLS
Treasurer:	Mona Hart Chandler, CP
Secretary:	Cecile Wiginton, CLA
Parliamentarian:	Debbie Skolaski, CP

Directors:

District 1 District 2 District 3 District 4 District 5 District 6 District 7 District 8 District 9 District 10 District 11 District 12 District 13	Debbie Skolaski, CP Joncilee, Miller, CLA Debbie House, CP Pamela R. Horn, TBLS Patricia J. Giuliano Jan Bufkin, CP Page L. McCoy, PLS, CLA Robert W. Soliz Vacant Ginger D. Williams, CLAS, TBLS Cecile Wiginton, CLA Vacant** Deborah Hathaway
District 13	Deborah Hathaway
District 14	Mona Hart Chandler, CP
District 15	Virginia Gill, TBLS
District 16	Heidi Beginski, TBLS

*The membership approved Bylaws revisions regarding redistricting and the elimination of District 9.

**Jennifer Jones was appointed by the Board as District 12 Director in August 2005 and resigned in February 2006.