Paralegal Division :: HISTORY 2006-2007

HISTORY OF THE PARALEGAL DIVISION OF THE STATE BAR OF TEXAS

2006 - 2007

The Incoming Board Meeting was held June 16-18, 2006, at the Capitol Place Hotel, Austin.

2006-2007 Standing Committee Chairs and Advisors

Committee	Chair	Advisor
Annual Meeting	RoseMary Martinez Simmons and Susan P. Rodriguez (Susan Rodriguez was replaced by Charlene Carroll, CP)	Patricia J. Giuliano
Continuing Education	Nan A. Gibson (District CLE) and Cel Wiginton (Online CLE)	Debbie House, CP
Elections	Jennifer Fielder	Robert Soliz
Membership	Michelle Rayburn	Mona Hart Chandler, CP
Procedures Manual (Special Committee) Standing Rules	Patricia J. Giuliano	Robert Soliz
Professional Ethics	Laurie Borski	Patricia Giuliano
Professional Development	Sharon Taylor, CP	Billy Hart
Publications	Rhonda Brashears, CP	Stephanie Hawkes, RP
Public Relations	Jodye Kasher, CP	Kristy Ritchie

2006-2007 Ad Hoc Committee Chairs and Advisors

Committee	Chair	Advisor
Alliance of State Paralegal Organizations	Javan Johnson, CLAS	Stephanie Hawkes, RP
Ethics Handbook	Ellen Lockwood, CLAS, RP	Javan Johnson, CLAS
PD Membership Renewals	Y. Michele Flowers Brooks Jeanette Ybarra	Billy Hart
PD Ambassador Program	Carolyn B. Goff	Deborah Hathaway
PD Website	Deborah Hathaway	Billy Hart
State Bar College Membership Application Review	Jena Parker, CP	Robert Soliz
TAPS 2006 Planning Committee	Ellen Lockwood, CLAS	Javan Johnson, CLAS
Attorney Marketing	Ellen Lockwood, CLAS, RP	Kristy Ritchie
Sustaining Member/Vendor Liaison	Kim J. Cantu, CLA	Debbie Guerra
Mandatory CLE	Debbie Skolaski	Debbie House, CP
Annual Meeting	Stephanie Hawkes, RP	Patricia Giuliano
E-Group	Heidi Beginski	Page McCoy

The Board of Directors met with the State Bar of Texas Standing Committee on Legal Assistants during Forum XXV. Following the Texas Forum, the Fall meeting of the Board was held at the Capitol Place Hotel, Austin, on November 3-4, 2006.

The Ethics Handbook committee reported that the work has begun on the book. West Legalworks is giving the Division a 15% royalty.

The TAPS Planning Committee reported a record 275 registrants. The 25th anniversary social on Wednesday evening was an elegant affair and a hit with attendees. Attendees received a commemorative sliver mint julep cup. The grand prize, awarded at

1 of 3 4/5/2020, 2:08 PM

Paralegal Division :: HISTORY 2006-2007

the luncheon, was \$2500 cash.

The Public Relations Committee proposed a mentor program and the board approved a pilot program in District 5.

The Board received the report and recommendations of the 2005-2006 financial audit from Carrie Bradshaw, CPA, of Brown Graham & Co. Despite budgeting for a loss, the Division actually realized a gain of \$52,969.00.

President Johnson appointed a Ten-Minute Mentor Ad Hoc Committee. Page McCoy was appointed as chair.

The Board approved Ethics FAQs to be added to the Division's website.

Holly Wilkerson of the Bar advised the Board of major changes for the 2007 Annual Meeting. There will be a flat fee of \$150 for one day or \$245 for both days. The fee includes registration, breakfast and lunch, and access to all CLE. All CLE papers will be available on a flash drive for each attendee.

President Johnson reappointed the Joint Task Force to address revising wording of the Paralegal Standards regarding Associate degrees.

The Board voted to approve a proposed Bylaw Amendment to Art. II, Section 4, to correct an error in the counties. The Board also voted to amend the Bylaws, adding Section 4 to Article 1, to reference the Paralegal Standards adopted by the Bar Board. Both proposed amendments will be put before the members for approval at the next scheduled election.

The Board meeting was held at the Hilton Garden Inn, Austin, on March 2-3, 2007.

President Johnson announced that because a contract could not be worked out with a hotel in the Houston area, TAPS 2007 would be held in Addison.

TBLS is issuing new paralegal certificates and TBLS standards now include a notation that the terms "paralegal" and "legal assistant" may be used interchangeably. TBLS is now allowing the use of the simple TBLS acronym after a paralegal's name, but the designation "paralegal" must also be used.

The Board voted to including the following notice to e-group postings:

NOTICE: This email and its attachments are for the personal use of the named recipient(s) only. If you are not an intended recipient, you have received this email in error. PD shall not be liable for any decision made or action taken in reliance on the information obtained from this e-group.

President Johnson announced that Coordinator Hackler had declared her intention by February 1, 2007, to seek renewal of her contract. The Board voted unanimously to accept Coordinator Hackler's renewal and not seek other applicants for the position.

The CEC reported that it appears PD will make a profit from online CLE this year.

The Board voted to appoint Cheryl A. Bryan, CP, as District 10 Director.

President Johnson appointed Director Hawkes to chair an Ad Hoc Committee regarding redistricting in light of issues regarding lack of participation in District 13 and adequately serving District 4.

Paralegal Division Board of Directors 2006 - 2007			
Officers:			
President: President-Elect: Treasurer: Secretary: Parliamentarian:	Mona Hart Chandler, CP Deborah Hathaway		
Directors:			
District 1 District 2 District 3 District 4	Debbie Skolaski, CP Stephanie Hawkes, RP Debbie House, CP Billy Hart		

2 of 3 4/5/2020, 2:08 PM

District 5 District 6 District 7 District 8 District 9 District 10 District 11 District 12	Kristy Ritchie Deirdre Trotter, CLAS Page L. McCoy, PLS, CLA Robert W. Soliz Ginger D. Williams, CLAS, TBLS Cecile Wiginton, CLA Debbie Oakes Guerra Deborah Hathaway
District 9	Ginger D. Williams, CLAS, TBLS
District 10	Cecile Wiginton, CLA
District 11	Debbie Oakes Guerra
District 12	,
District 13	Mona Hart Chandler, CP
District 14	Virginia Gill, TBLS
District 15	Clara Buckland, CP
District 16	

3 of 3