PARALEGAL DIVISION STATE BAR OF TEXAS



Prepared by: Mona Hart Tucker, ACP President, 2017-2018 and Stephanie R. Sterling, TBLS-BCP President, 2018-2019 Historian, 2019-2020 <u>ssterling@dbcllp.com</u>

Historian Report

2017-2018

2017 Incoming Board Meeting

The Incoming Board Meeting was held on June 24, 2017 in Addison, Texas. President Tucker discussed her goals for the year.

2017-2018 Board of Directors

| 2017-2018 Executive | Committee & Officers |
|-------------------------------------|---------------------------------|
| President | Mona H. Tucker, ACP |
| President-Elect | Stephanie R. Sterling, TBLS-BCP |
| Treasurer | Javan Johnson, ACP, TBLS-BCP |
| Secretary | Mary Wintermote |
| Parliamentarian | Edna W. Garza, TBLS-BCP |
| 2017-2018 District Directors | |
| District 1 Director | District 8 Director |
| Sherylyne "Sherie" Hollinger | Vacant |
| District 2 Director | District 10 Director |
| Jay Williams, TBLS-BCP ¹ | Jennifer Barnes |
| Eugene Alcala | |
| District 3 Director | District 11 Director |
| Mary Wintermote | Sandra Seutter |
| District 4 Director | District 12 Director |
| Pam Etie, ACP, PLS | Michelle Beecher |
| District 5 Director | District 14 Director |
| Susi Boss | Javan Johnson, TBLS-BCP, ACP |
| District 6 Director | District 15 Director |
| Vacant | Edna W. Garza, TBLS-BCP |

¹ Mr. Williams was removed in February 2018, and Mr. Alcala was appointed to complete the remainder of the term as District 2 Director.

| District 7 Director | District 16 Director |
|---------------------|----------------------|
| Sharla Fowler, CP | Rebecca Lopez |

The following committee chairs, advisors, and liaisons were appointed:

Standing Committee Chairs/Board Advisors:

| Committee | Chair | Board Advisor |
|--|-------------------|----------------------|
| 2018 Annual Meeting Committee – Austin | Alice Lineberry | Pam Etie |
| Continuing Education Committee | | Jay Williams |
| • District CLE | Jennifer Evans | |
| • Online CLE | Shannon Shaw | |
| Elections Committee | Martha Ramirez | Michelle Beecher |
| Membership Committee | Francesca Romans | Pam Etie |
| Professional Development Committee | Donna Lynn Waldon | Mary Wintermote |
| Professional Ethics Committee | Ellen Lockwood | Jennifer Barnes |
| Public Relations | Erica Anderson | Rebecca Lopez |
| Publications | Megan Goor | Edna Garza |

Ad Hoc Committee/Board Advisors:

| Committee | Chair | Board Advisor |
|--|--------------------|--------------------|
| Ambassadors Program | Debbie McBride | Sandra Seutter |
| E-Group Policy | Kimberly McDonald | Sharla Fowler |
| eNewsletter – Paralegal Pulse | Sheila Posey | Javan Johnson |
| Governing Documents | Stephanie Sterling | Stephanie Sterling |
| Membership Renewal Spot Audit | Deb Pointer | Mary Wintermote |
| Mentor Program | Deb Pointer | Sherie Hollinger |
| Paralegal Ethics Handbook | Ellen Lockwood | Jennifer Barnes |
| Pro Bono | Shanna Mello | Edna Garza |
| TAPS 2017 Planning Committee | Megan Goor | Mona Tucker |
| TAPS 2018 Planning Committee [default President] | Mona Tucker | Stephanie Sterling |
| TBLS Examination Helpful Hints | Javan Johnson | Javan Johnson |
| Texas Bar College Membership Application Review | Jena Parker | Susi Boss |
| Vendor Liaison | Susan Davis | Michelle Beecher |
| Website Development | Michelle Beecher | Michelle Beecher |

Liaison appointments:

| Committee | Liaison |
|---|------------------|
| American Alliance of Paralegals (AAPI) | Jennifer Barnes |
| American Association for Paralegal Education (AAfPE) | Sharla Fowler |
| American Association of Legal Nurse Consultants (AALNC) | Sherie Hollinger |
| American Bar Association (ABA) | Rebecca Lopez |
| Office of Court Administration | Michelle Beecher |
| National Association of Legal Assistants (NALA) | Susi Boss |
| National Federation of Paralegal Associations (NFPA) | Jay Williams |

| Texas Alliance of Paralegal Associations (TAPA) | Mona Tucker |
|--|-----------------|
| Texas Association of Legal Professionals (TALP/NALS) | Sandra Seutter |
| Texas Board of Legal Specialization (TBLS) | Edna Garza |
| Texas Lawyers for Texas Veterans (TLTV) | Javan Johnson |
| Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) | Mary Wintermote |

Other appointments were as follows:

| Representative to State Bar [default President] | Mona Tucker, ACP |
|---|------------------|
| Representative to State Bar College (2017-2020) | Jena Parker |
| State Bar of Texas Pro Bono Workgroup | Misti Janes |

TAPS 2017

TAPS 2017 was held in Addison, Texas at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Near Galleria, on October 4-6, 2017. The theme was "TAPS Unmasqued – Knowledge Awaits".

2017 Fall Board Meeting

The Fall meeting of the Board of Directors was held in Addison, Texas, on October 27 and 28, 2017. President Tucker announced Nominations Committee Chairs and 2018 TAPS Planning Committee appointments. President Tucker introduced Michael R. Akins as the new Director for District 6. She also informed the Board of the organization of a proposed new section to the State Bar, that of Child Protection Law. She had been approached with an invitation for the Paralegal Division to be in on the ground floor of this committee and had willingly accepted. At her suggestion, President-Elect Stephanie Sterling was appointed to the planning committee.

Winter 2018 Board Meeting

The Winter meeting of the Board of Directors was held in Addison, Texas, on February 9-11, 2018. President Tucker announced the results of the Board's email votes to appoint Lisa Pittman to the position of Director for District 12.

PD Trip

The Paralegal Division sponsored its annual trip to Europe on April 21-29, 2018. The destinations this year were Bruges, Brussels, and Amsterdam. Next year Paralegals Return to London.

Texas Forum

It was announced that the Texas Forum would be moving to every other year format rather than annually. The next Texas Forum will be in 2019.

Historian Report 2017-2018 Page 4

2017-2018 Outgoing Board Meeting

The outgoing meeting of the Board of Directors was held June 21, 2018, in Austin, Texas. The Board received and approved the annual audit report, and also ratified two Bylaws amendments: one providing for future Annual Meetings to be held in conjunction with TAPS, and the second to dissolve Districts 6 and 8, combining those counties affected with adjoining Districts. President Tucker announced the results of the Board's email votes to appoint Eugene Alcala to the position of Director for District 2.

2018 Annual Meeting

The 2018 Annual Meeting and Luncheon of the Paralegal Division was held at the Austin Marriott South in Austin, Texas, on June 22, 2018. The theme was "Operation: Military Legal Support". Three hours of CLE were provided, and the keynote speaker was Thomas Palladino, Executive Director of the Texas Veterans Commission. His topic was "Veteran Services in Texas".

The following awards were presented:

| Award | Recipient | |
|------------------------------------|--|--|
| Exceptional Pro Bono Service Award | Toya Walker, CCEP | |
| Outstanding Committee Chairs | Deb Pointer, Membership Renewal Spot Audit | |
| Award | Ad Hoc Committee | |
| | and | |
| | Francesca Romans, ACP, Membership | |
| | Committee | |
| Award of Excellence | Megan Goor, TBLS-BCP, Publications | |
| | Committee | |
| Special Awards | Javan Johnson, TBLS Helpful Hints Guide | |
| Outgoing Director Plaques | Pam Etie, ACP, District 4 Director | |
| | Jennifer Barnes, CP, District 10 Director | |
| | Mona Tucker, ACP, President | |

Other general PD business was conducted, and the annual report of the President was given, followed by the installation of the 2018-2019 Officers and Board of Directors.

Respectfully submitted,

Mona H. Tucker, ACP President, 2017-2018 Historian, 2018-2019 and Stephanie R. Sterling, TBLS-BCP President, 2018-2019 Historian, 2019-2020